Skip to content

Danielle at Royal Davui, Fiji – “like a kid with $20 to spend in a lolly shop”.

April 3, 2014

Danielle Stucki – FIJI educational, March 2014
Dan Royal Davui 010414

Danielle at Royal Davui 010414
Like a kid with $20 to spend in a lolly shop, I didn’t know what to do first. I’d just checked in to my private Deluxe Vale at Royal Davui and had under an hour to enjoy the room, and then be ready to meet our group for sunset drinks.
Should I sit on the enormously comfy looking lounge, relax for 5 minutes and enjoy the stunning view across the sparkling water to the very pretty Beqa Island? Maybe peak under the basket on the coffee table to discover the freshly baked complimentary banana bread? Actually, I’ve got enough time, to make a coffee with the plunger that’s supplied in the room. Or have I?….
Because I really should put my bathers on and just unwind in my private plunge pool. I dip my toes in and marvel at the perfect temperature. How romantic to be here at sunset (if my husband was here), and just chill-out at the end of the day. Can’t believe what a picturesque view this is – private beach below, glistening ocean, stunning islands.
I snap out of my trance, and walk back into the huge bedroom, then out to the sundeck. I could just grab a mag and have a quick 5 minutes lying in the sun on one of the two nicely-padded day-loungers. No that’s just wasting time at this point…
I walk back inside and marvel at the perfectly-made bed with crisp white sheets. I love the welcome message written on my bed in palm leaves – what a special touch. Ok, I’m still wasting time…
Right… I really should just unpack, charge my phone, sort out a few things….so I stand there staring at my suitcase. Keep going… I take my make-up case out of my bag and walk past the bed and up the steps to the bathroom. Wow! I gaze over the inviting spa bath and past the bedroom to the warm colors of the setting sun shining across to Beqa Island. Maybe I should have a luxurious bath – that would be divine….
Or maybe not, because I finally blink my eyes and realise that forty minutes has gone by and I’ve done a whole lot of nothing! I’m due to meet the group in ten minutes.
So, I rush around….grab my bathers, hop in the plunge pool for at least two minutes, making sure to look at that stunning view again. Hop out, grab my towel, run into the lounge and sit on the comfy couch….open the banana cake and take a bite. Run to the bathroom, and start the shower…. I look up and notice there are louvres on the shower ceiling that can be opened. I can’t believe what a great idea that is – and I can now sea through to sky and palm trees! Rush, rush, rush and I find myself ready to leave this spectacular room for evening drinks.
What a shame I’m only here for one evening and will be leaving by 10.30am….
Must make sure to have a swim in the main pool and a good snorkel before then… (no procrastinating this time Danielle!)
This resort is truly stunning. Amazing accommodation, views, facilities and, of course the wonderful warm Fijian staff. Congratulations to Michael and Angela on their newly appointed roles as Resort Managers – what a place to work!

From → Danielle

3 Comments
  1. Gerry permalink

    I’ve just enjoyed a day in Royal Davui in 3.5 minutes reading!
    Cheers…Gerry

  2. Trish Fisher permalink

    After reading your post I have added another destination to my wish list!! Thanks Danielle, it sounds my cup of tea! Trish

  3. You made me feel as if I was there.

Leave a Reply

